> Waterson:Carthy > Records > Fishes & Fine Yellow Sand

Fishes & Fine Yellow Sand

Waterson:Carthy: Fishes & Fine Yellow Sand (Topic TSCD542)

Fishes & Fine Yellow Sand

Topic Records TSCD542 (CD, UK, June 2004)

Recorded, mixed and produced by Oliver Knight;
Farewell Lovely Nancy recorded by Ben Ivitsky;
Executive producer Tony Engle;
Photography, design and sand-fish by John Haxby

According to the Waterson:Carthy newsletter of Summer 2004, “a number of tracks were recorded live at gigs during recent tours and one track, The Oxford Girl, was recorded at a soundcheck.” This does not quite fit the album notes which only state Napoleon’s Death to be recorded live at Blackheath Concert Hall.


Norma Waterson: vocals;
Eliza Carthy: fiddle, vocals;
Martin Carthy: guitar, vocals;
Tim van Eyken: melodeon;
with Ben Ivitsky: cello [5]


  1. Goodbye Fare You Well (Roud 927; G/D 1:5; Henry H53a) (3.45)
  2. The Oxford Girl (Roud 263; Laws P35; G/D 2:200) (5.07)
  3. The Galopede / Walter Bulwer’s No. 2 / Walter Bulwer’s No. 1 (tunes) (4.27)
  4. Newry Town (Roud 490; Laws L12; G/D 2:260; Henry H691) (6.33)
  5. Farewell Lovely Nancy (Roud 527; Laws K14; Henry H755) (4.45)
  6. Black Muddy River (4.09)
  7. The Quadrille / The Tempest / The Portland Fancy (tunes) (5.14)
  8. Napoleon’s Death (Roud 2419) (4.28)
  9. Green Broom (Roud 379; G/D 5:950; Henry H147) (4.00)
  10. Georg Tills’ No. 2 / George Tills’ No. 1 (tunes) (4.40)
  11. Captain Kidd (Roud 1900; Laws K35) (9.03)
  12. Twenty-One Years on Dartmoor (Roud 2248; Laws E16) (5.26)

All tracks trad. arr. Eliza Carthy, Martin Carthy, Tim van Eyken, Norma Waterson except
Track 5 trad. arr. Eliza Carthy, Martin Carthy, Ben Ivitsky, Norma Waterson;
Track 6 Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter;
Track 9 trad. arr. Martin Carthy, Tim van Eyken