> The Albion Christmas Band > Records > Winter Songs

The Albion Christmas Band: Winter Songs

The Albion Christmas Band: Winter Songs (Talking Elephant TECD103)

Winter Songs
The Albion Christmas Band

Talking Elephant TECD103 (CD, UK, 13 November 2006)

Produced by The Albion Christmas Band and Mark Hutchinson;
Recorded by Mark Hutchinson at Rooksmere Studios, Overstone, Northamptonshire;
Front cover photo by Pail Van Dijk;
Group photos by Paul Michael Hughes;
Design by Malcolm Holmes


Kellie While: vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards;
Simon Care: vocals, melodeon, concertina, percussion, drum;
Ashley Hutchings: vocals, bass guitar;
Simon Nicol: vocals, acoustic guitar

with special guest:
Ruth Angell: violin


  1. Somerset Carol (Roud 394) (2.36)
  2. Bitter Withy (Roud 452) (3.29)
  3. First Christmas Waltz / Christmas in a Village (2.56)
  4. Winter Song (3.48)
  5. All Hayle to the Dayes (3.52)
  6. The Last Christmas Tree (2.02)
  7. The Holly and the Ivy (Roud 514) (3.19)
  8. Voices Raised in Simple Worship (0.49)
  9. God Bless the Master (Roud 1066) (2.59)
  10. River (4.20)
  11. Ham and Beef (0.56)
  12. Frosty Reception / Ring Out Wild Bells (3.47)
  13. O Little Town of Bethlehem (Roud 24752) (2.39)
  14. Once in Royal David’s City (3.03)
  15. Noel, Christmas Eve, 1913 (1.41)
  16. The First Nowell (Roud 682) (2.50)
  17. Past Three O’Clock (3.28)

All tracks trad. arr. The Albion Christmas Band, except
Track 3a, 12a Simon Care;
Track 3b excerpt from a poem by John Clare;
Track 4 Alan Hull;
Track 6 Charles Dickens;
Tracks 8, 11 excerpts from a A Song for Every Season by Bob Copper;
Track 10 Joni Mitchell;
Track 12b excerpt from a poem by Alfred Lord Tennyson;
Track 15 poem by Robert Bridges