> Folk Music > Records > Maddie Southorn: The Pilgrim Soul

Maddie Southorn: The Pilgrim Soul

Maddie Southorn: The Pilgrim Soul (Fellside FECD193)

The Pilgrim Soul
Maddie Southorn

Fellside Recordings FECD193 (CD, UK, 2005)

Recorded by Paul Adams and Robert Hallard;
Produced by Paul Adams and Maddie Southorn;
Photographs by Maddie Southorn and Robert Nixon;
Artwork by Mary Blood


Maddie Southorn: vocals, backing vocals, piano, keyboards, harmonica;
Janet Martin: cello;
Stevie Lawrence: guitars, bouzouki, high & low whistle, percussion;
Mike France: bass;
Nancy Kerr: fiddle;
Karen Tweed: accordion;
Chris James: slide guitar;
Linda Adams, Robert Hallard: backing vocals [2, 7-8]


  1. Roanoke (5.05)
  2. River (5.34)
  3. Nell’s Garden (4.46)
  4. The Valley of Strathmore (6.12)
  5. The Pilgrim Soul (4.11)
  6. On Gold Ground (5.28)
  7. When I Was on Horseback (Roud 2; Laws Q26) (4.11)
  8. Misery Point (7.19)
  9. The Murder of Maria Marten (Roud 215) (5.09)
  10. King of Prussia (2.45)
  11. Who Is at My Window Weeping? (Roud 22621; Laws M4) (6.03)

All tracks written by Maddie Southorn except
Track 4 Andy M. Stewart;
Track 5 Maddie Southorn / trad.;
Tracks 7, 9, 11 trad.;
Track 10 Michael Southorn