> Folk Music > Records > George Spicer: Blackberry Fold

Blackberry Fold

George Spicer: Blackberry Fold (Topic 12T235)

Blackberry Fold
Traditional Songs and Ballads Sung by
George Spicer of Selsfield, Sussex

Topic Records 12T235 (LP, UK, 1974)

Recorded by Mike Yates in the singer's home, Selsfield, West Hoathly, Sussex, in 1972-74;
Notes and sleeve photography by Mike Yates;
Sleeve design by Tony Engle


George Spicer, vocals


Side 1Side 2
  1. Blackberry Fold (Roud 559; Laws O10)
  2. Cut Away Mike (Roud 1711)
  3. The Oyster Girl (Roud 875; Laws Q13; G/D 2:304; Henry H725)
  4. The Faithful Sailor Boy (Roud 376; Laws K13; G/D 1:66; Henry H543)
  5. Three Jolly Boys (Roud 1710)
  6. The Irish Hop-Pole Puller (Roud 1709)
  7. The Cunning Cobbler (Roud 174)
  1. The Folkestone Murder (Roud 897)
  2. The German Clockmender (Roud 241)
  3. Henry My Son (Roud 10; Child 12; G/D 2:209; Henry H814)
  4. Coming Home Late (Roud 114; Child 274; G/D 7:1460; Henry H21ab) (4.30)
  5. I Wish There Was No Prisons (Roud 1708) (1.09)
  6. Searching for Young Lambs (Roud 1437; Laws O9; G/D 5:966)
  7. The Old Militia Drum (Roud 163; TYG 32)

Tracks 11 and 12 were also included on the Voice of the People series.

> Folk Music > Records > George Spicer

Other records with George Spicer

Various Artists, Four Sussex Singers, EP, Collector JEB7, 1961

Various Artists, Songs of Seduction (The Folk Songs of Britain Vol. 2), LP, Caedmon TC1143, 1961; Topic 12T158, 1968; CD, Rounder 1778, 2000

Various Artists, Songs of Animals and Other Marvels (The Folk Songs of Britain Vol. 10), LP, Caedmon TC1225, 1961; Topic 12T198, 1970

Various Artists, When Sheepshearing's Done: Countryside Songs from Southern England, LP, Topic 12T254, 1975

Various Artists, The Brave Ploughboy, LP, Transatlantic XTRS 1150, 1975

They Ordered Their Pints of Beer and Bottles of Sherry (Topic TSCD663) Various Artists, They Ordered Their Pints of Beer and Bottles of Sherry (The Voice of the People Vol. 13), CD, Topic TSCD663, 1998

Troubles They Are But Few (Topic TSCD664) Various Artists, Troubles They Are But Few (The Voice of the People Vol. 14), CD, Topic TSCD664, 1998

Down in the Fields (Veteran VTC4CD) Various Artists, Down in the Fields: An Anthology of Traditional Folk Music from Rural England, CD, Veteran VTC4CD, 2001

Just Another Saturday Night (Musical Traditions MTCD309/10) Various Artists, Just Another Saturday Night: Sussex 1960, 2 CD, Musical Traditions MTCD309/10, 2001

Up in the North and Down in the South (Musical Traditions MTCD311/2) Various Artists, Up in the North and Down in the South, Songs and Music from the Mike Yates Collection 1964-2000, 2 CD, Musical Traditions MTCD311/2, 2001

The Birds Upon the Tree (Musical Traditions MTCD333) Various Artists, The Birds Upon the Tree, CD, Musical Traditions MTCD333, 2004

It Was on a Market Day—One (Veteran VTC6CD) Various Artists, It Was on a Market Day—One: English Traditional Folk Singers, CD, Veteran VTC6CD, 2005

You Never Heard So Sweet (Topic TSCD671) Various Artists, You Never Heard So Sweet (The Voice of the People Vol. 21), CD, Topic TSCD671, 2012

I Wish There Was No Prisons (Musical Traditions MTCD372) Various Artists, I Wish There Was No Prisons, CD, Musical Traditions MTCD372, 2015

Wait Till the Clouds Roll By (Musical Traditions MTCD518-0) Various Artists, Wait Till the Clouds Roll By, 3 CD, Musical Traditions MTCD518-0, 2020