> Folk Music > Records > Bah! Humbug: The Alternative Christmas Album

Bah! Humbug: The Alternative Christmas Album

Bah! Humbug (Greentrax G2CD7007)

Bah! Humbug
The Alternative Christmas Album
Various Artists

Greentrax Recordings G2CD7007 (CD, UK, 2002)

Tracks 4 and 12 recorded and produced by Ian McCalman at Kecock Studio, Lasswade, Midlothian;
Track 9 recorded and produced by Davie Scott at East Kilbride Artse Centre, Lanarkshire;
Track 6 recorded by Ian Loud at Shaldon Studio, South Devon and produced by Cyril Tawney;
Edited and mastered by Peter Haigh ar Pier House Studios, Edinburgh;
Front cover sketch by Malky McCormick;
Design and layout by John Slavin


  1. Intro: The Bells, the Bells! (0.24)
  2. Eric Bogle: Santa Bloody Claus (4.02)
  3. Tom Lehrer: Christmas Carol (2.41)
  4. Cyril Tawney: There Are No Lights on Our Christmas Tree (4.47)
  5. Robin Laing: The Man That Slits the Turkeys Throats at Christmas (5.18)
  6. Tom Clellant: The Present (4.59)
  7. Bill Barclay: The Twelve Days of Christmas (Roud 68; G/D 3:637) (4.24)
  8. His Worship and The Pig: Mary Christmas (3.12)
  9. The McCalmans: God Bless the Birthday Boy (3.19)
  10. Enoch Kent: Christmas Comes But Once a Year (2.19)
  11. Loudon Wainwright III: Christmas Morning (3.37)
  12. Cyril Tawney: The Lone Shepherd (7.37)
  13. Greentrax Choir (Drinkers Drouth, Sangsters and The McCalmans): We Wish You a Merry Christmas (Roud 230) (3.03)

Track 2 Eric Bogle;
Track 3 Tom Lehrer;
Tracks 4, 12 Cyril Tawney;
Track 5 John Rudkin;
Track 6 Tom Clelland;
Track 7 Bill Barclay;
Track 8 D. Boulton, J. Parton;
Track 9 Ian McCalman;
Track 10 Enoch Kent;
Track 11 Loudon Wainwright III;
Track 13 trad. arr. Ian McCalman